Folk'Avant consists of Anna Wikenius (vocals), Maija Kauhanen (kantele, vocals) and Anna Rubinsztein (violin, vocals).

The trio was formed in Stockholm in 2013 after a jam session that took a lot of unexpected turns. Rooted in the nordic traditional music, the group focuses on their own original material, a mix of grand expressions and delicate melodies. Folk'Avant's music is a landscape of sounds, vocal harmonies, stories and grooves that blends together and pours in to different tunes. 

In May 2017 the debut album "Gryningsland" was released and was well received by both listeners and critics. 


Said about "Gryningsland":

"For a debut album it's astonishingly complete. Every move is assured, every note just right, and the silences speak as loudly as any instrument." Chris Nickson, fRoots September 2017

"From the opening notes, it's immediately apparent, that Folk'Avant's Gryningsland is a special recording by three immensely talented musicians. Folk'Avant deserves a standing ovation for this extraordinary debut: a deeply moving and inspiring journey." Barry Livingston, music journalist Canada, May 2017

"…it is a particularly original folk music album they deliver, and their music making is of the utmost class. A colorful debut album to say the least!" Ulf Gustavsson, Uppsala Nya Tidning May 2017